Professor in Cell and Regenerative Biology

5007 WIMR
1111 Highland Ave

Research Interests:Roles of cytochrome P4501B1 and Ah Receptor in fat pad development, bone marrow toxicity and carcinogenesis in susceptible mouse strains. Effects of polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons and PCBs in these processes.


Our research addresses signaling mechanisms involving P450 cytochromes. These regulate activity at nuclear receptors regulated by three types of activator.

  • cholesterol/steroid hormones
  • fatty acids and metabolites
  • Ah receptor/PCB’s and polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons
  • Duan H, Jefcoate CR. The predominant cAMP-stimulated 3 x 5 kb StAR mRNA contains specific sequence elements in the extended 3’UTR that confer high basal instability. J Mol Endocrinol. 2007 Feb;38(1-2):159-79.
  • Yamazaki T, Matsuoka C, Gendou M, Izumi S, Zhao D, Artemenko I, Jefcoate CR, Kominami S. Mitochondrial processing of bovine adrenal steroidogenic acute regulatory protein. Biochim Biophys Acta. 2006 Oct;1764(10):1561-7.
  • Jefcoate CR. Liver X receptor opens a new gateway to StAR and to steroid hormones. J Clin Invest. 2006 Jul;116(7):1832-5.
  • Tsuchiya Y, Nakajima M, Takagi S, Katoh M, Zheng W, Jefcoate CR, Yokoi T. Binding of steroidogenic factor-1 to the regulatory region might not be critical for transcriptional regulation of the human CYP1B1 gene. J Biochem (Tokyo). 2006 Mar;139(3):527-34.
  • Galvan N, Page TJ, Czuprynski CJ, Jefcoate CR. Benzo(a)pyrene and 7,12-dimethylbenz(a)anthrecene differentially affect bone marrow cells of the lymphoid and myeloid lineages. Toxicol Appl Pharmacol. 2006 Jun 1;213(2):105-16.

Mentor to METC Graduate Students:

  • Melissa Cimafranca (2006)
  • Noe Galvan (2004)
  • Paul Hanlon (2003)
  • David Alexander (1999)
  • Dong Zhao (2002)
  • Leo Ganem (1999)
  • Paul Brake (1997)
  • Lynn Pottenger (1990)
  • Cristopher Williams (1990)
  • Neil Wilson (1986)
  • Diane Baxter (Masters-1985)
  • Michael Dibartolomeis Jr (1984)

Mentor to METC Post-Doc:

  • Cat Rondelli (2014-present)
  • Sakina Eltom (1996)
  • Shelley Larsen-Su (1999)
  • Craig Marcus (1983-1984)
  • Maro Christou (1984 & 1986)